Agriculture Research Policy and Way Forward


New Policy Discussion Programme was organized by the World Bank team. Mr. Madhur Gautam, The lead economist agriculture global practice of world bank, Mr. Ulrich Schmitt, Team Leader of ASM Project, Mr. B. Wijayaratne, Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture, Mr. B. Wickramarachchi, Secretary, Ministry of Primary Industries, Dr. Gerry Jayawardena, The Chairman of Council for Agricultural Research Policy and Special Advisor to the Minister of Agriculture, Dr. Rohan Wijekoon, Director General Department of Agriculture, Prof. Jeevika Weerahewa, Faculty of Agriculture, University of Peradeniya were the key presenters of this programme. The main objective of this programme was to provide the Policy direction towards agriculture food sector.